Error publishing aspnetdb

Topics: Database Publishing Wizard
Mar 16, 2007 at 8:51 AM
Hi all, I'm a newbie in SQL Server and I'm building an asp.net website with Visual Web Developer. I noticed this cool tool, SQL Server Hosting Toolkit, to upload tables to the hoster (i couldn't find a way to do it), so I downloaded the italian version of the software and tried first to use it for my aspnetdb file, which at the moment contains just a few roles and users I inserted to test the site login procedure.
Then I used SQL Server Management Studio Express to connect to the hoster db space and executed the script generated by SQL SHT. My working environment is SQL Server 2005 Express, the hoster has SQL Server 2000, so I selected that option for scripting generation.
At the end of the query execution, these red lines were displayed:

Messaggio 446, livello 16, stato 9, procedura aspnetUsersInRolesAddUsersToRoles, riga 45
Cannot resolve collation conflict for equal to operation.
Messaggio 446, livello 16, stato 9, procedura aspnetUsersInRolesRemoveUsersFromRoles, riga 50
Cannot resolve collation conflict for equal to operation.
Messaggio 208, livello 16, stato 11, riga 1
Invalid object name 'dbo.aspnetUsersInRolesAddUsersToRoles'.
Messaggio 208, livello 16, stato 11, riga 1
Invalid object name 'dbo.aspnetUsersInRolesRemoveUsersFromRoles'.

Any ideas about that?

Thank you in advance,
JohnR
Mar 16, 2007 at 8:57 PM
Hi JohnR -

This message is caused by the fact that the database you are publishing into has a different database collation than the one you are publishing from. (A collation describes how text data should be sorted... see http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa174903(SQL.80).aspx) We recommend that you change the collation of the source database to match that of the target database. You can find the collation of a database by running the following command against your hosted database:

SELECT DATABASEPROPERTYEX('database_name', 'Collation');