Could not drop object 'dbo.aspnet_Roles' because it is referenced by a FOREIGN KEY constraint.

Topics: Database Publishing Wizard
Jan 16, 2007 at 2:31 AM
When I run my .sql script in GoDaddy's Query Analyzer after generating the default aspnetdb.sql file using the publisher I get this error message "Could not drop object 'dbo.aspnet_Roles' because it is referenced by a FOREIGN KEY constraint". I am fairly new to this and I have no idea what this means or the workaround. Any help is appreciated. By the way, I have been very stuck trying to publish my site from VWD to GoDaddy and this blog/forum is way helpful. Thanks for the cool work you guys/gals do.
Jan 16, 2007 at 5:44 PM
We will investigate this. In the mean time, have you tried publishing only the data for this table. You can select this option in the "Options" page of the wizard.

Thanks,
alex
Jan 19, 2007 at 1:00 PM
To Alex:

Hi,

I’ve been trying for days to publish Classifieds (template from WVD) onto GoDaddy – but without any success. I tried all the combinations: your instructions 1 and 2 with the publishing, GoDaddys instructions (if I may call it instructions), … and more-or-less every knowledge base I could find on the web. Also, yes, I have tried to upload only data, but if I manage to log myself – I can not do in the Site administration; if I log myself as Guest – same I cannot do anything.

Does anyone actually successfully upload the Classifieds template on the web (preferably GoDaddy)?

Lets make is simple, as I presume other have same question:
1. The simplest way: lets say I have page “ABC” which is just Classifieds template in WVD; I have run it for the first time and only use ASP.NET Configuration to log myself as administrator.
2. So, the entire template configuration is the same – let’s leave the customising as this is not the problem.