error in Querry Analizer

Topics: Database Publishing Wizard
Oct 25, 2006 at 4:01 AM
Great timing...this is just what I was starting to bang my head against the desk about.

But I am still having a problem. Hope this post helps you, and I hope you can help me!

OK, SQL Server 2005 on Shared hosting at GoDaddy.

Everything runs fine locally on my desktop with VS2005 Standard and SQL Server Management Studio Express.
Nothing major, just 3 roles and a few users.

(I am new to all of this, so bear with me.)
I followed the "This could be a miracle..." thread and, first off, instead of "DataSource=" in the connection string, I had to use "Server="

After that, the script seemed to generate just fine.

I went over to GoDaddy's control panel->sql manager, tried running the script in the Querry Analyser sic and had a few goofy sounding errors, so I decided to give it a clean start. I removed the SQL from my GoDaddy set-up entirely, then set up a new one.

I tried running the script and recieved this error:
Error -2147217900
Unclosed quotation mark before the character string 'CREATE PROCEDURE dbo.aspnet_Users_DeleteUser @ApplicationName nvarchar(256), @UserName

nvarchar(256), @TablesToDeleteFrom int, @NumTablesDeletedFrom int OUTPUT AS BEGIN DECLARE @UserId uniqueidentifier SELECT @UserId = NULL SELECT

@NumTablesDeletedFrom = 0 DECLARE @TranStarted bit SET...
/quote

GoDaddy gives you an option for installing the "ASP.Net 2.0 SQL Server Schema Features"
I tried the generated script both with and without the schema features installed and recieved the same error.

Any thoguhts? (please say I am just doing something dumb, or forgetting something)

Thanks.
Oct 25, 2006 at 5:30 AM
Hi

Can you check if the output script created by SqlPubWiz.exe has a "GOTO" as the first statement in a line? There is a known issue in the "Query Analyser" script execution window on GoDaddy.com due to which it issues an error if GOTO is the first statement in a line.