This could be a miracle for Newbs like me

Topics: Database Publishing Wizard
Oct 18, 2006 at 7:05 PM
Hiya

I have hopes that this publishing tool will make ASP.NET worth pursuing again.

I am one of the ( thousands? ) of web site creators that took up the Free offer by
Microsoft to download and use Visual Web Developer 2005 Express edition.

I’ve spent the last six months purchasing textbooks, watching the videos and working
through tutorials for this fantastic production suite.
I’ve been extremely happy with the power and speed VWD affords me and before long
I put together a data-driven inventory application that performs flawlessly . . .
. . . here on my PC.

The difficulty I think the bulk of us ( thousands?) are facing is that with no SQL experience whatsoever, any hope of getting the fine work produced by VWD functioning
on a host server is nill.

I’ve been putting up web sites for 9 years using HTML.
I have 11 years experience with MS Access so I know what a database is.
I have 11 years experience with PhotoShop which is worthless for this conversation. Sorry.

What has me on the brink of Violently Discarding ASP.NET and avoiding any future
Visual studio product is that, it seems I now need to spend the next six months learning
To turn my PC into an SQL database server and learn what diagrams, pipes, instances and T-Sql scripts are, just to get 7 or 8 pages of .aspx uploaded and running properly.
This is not something anyone would expect even after fully examining all of the available
Material connected to this page: http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/express/vwd/default.aspx

“An ideal environment for new Web developers” – It certainly is!
( so long as when you upload it to a host company, you’re also an SQL Database Administrator.
Until I received my first “Server application ERROR /” page and went digging into the web.config file, I’d never heard the term connection string.)

I know I’m not the only VWD user that’s hit this brick wall.